Gertie’s Portrait Blouse

My co worker bought 2 copies of Gertie’s Book of Better sewing and let me buy a copy from her. Not sure if I would have ended up with this book otherwise. I am sure glad I did. It is chalked full of every kind of alteration question a beginner sewist would have. I also like the way she explains the various finishes that one could do to make the garment their own. I made a couple of the easier pattern – the portrait blouse. They sew up super fast, take only a metre of fabric, and forced me to face my zipper phobia. I conquered the invisible zip….just couldn’t do the lapped one she explains in the instructions. I am a visual learner and that is one downfall of the book…..I need more images! But that is just me. The first pic is a sateen and the second a sale cotton.

20130813-214626.jpg

20130813-214640.jpg

4 thoughts on “Gertie’s Portrait Blouse

    • Thanks! The only thing that got me thru the zipper is the free Craftsy class – Mastering Zipper Techniques. I love Sunni, she explains everything and I can rewind, rewind, rewind. 🙂 Plus it is very visual. Highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

