Fall For Cotton – Butterick 7731

I have decided to make the Butterick 7731 pattern (1956) for the Fall For Cotton Challenge in September. There is a story behind this choice. At the beginning of summer, I received a call from a guy who wanted to know if I wanted a sewing machine that use to be his moms. When I picked it up, he also handed me a box of patterns – at least 60 plus patterns.

Brian gave me a picture of his mom and the bill of sale for the sewing machine which was bought in 1952 for $104 dollars. I can’t fix this 3/4 size seamstress machine…it’s missing a few parts and needs a new motor. It is the only machine out of the 20 I have repaired that remains dormant. I have beautiful picture of Joan who is the seamstress behind the machine. Her patterns mostly range in the 1960s but there are a few 50s and 70s in the mix. This Butterick 3371 pattern was purchased at the Simpson Sears building downtown in the mid 50s. I remember going to this department store with my mom as a kid. It is the 5 story building on the right.

I really like the collar and the cuffs on this top. The pattern states it has an Italian flair. If all works as planned, I will try to incorporate the vintage buttons Nikie mailed me for the Sew Weekly Reunion notion swap from the UK.

20130825-213728.jpg

20130825-213750.jpg

20130825-213813.jpg

20130825-213831.jpg

20130826-064901.jpg

3 thoughts on “Fall For Cotton – Butterick 7731

  1. Oh yes! It’s very Gina Lollobrigida!

    I do love that this pattern has a real story behind it, and you are walking right in the footsteps of the original seamstress who bought it. I’m sure Joan would be really happy to know that her sewing treasures were being looked after and used with love.

  2. What a wonderful story and what a wonderful treasure. It doesn’t matter that the machine doesn’t work, it is a wonderful display piece, showing the wonderful past. I look forward to seeing your blouse! It is a great pattern!

Leave a Reply

