My sewing room today

I have another Archer cut and ready to sew. This time I am trying a dressy wrinkle free….linen looking fabric in Navy. Can’t wait.

Also got a few patterns in the mail. My favorite is the DKNY dress. My co worker had one made out of a paisley double knit. It looked awesome and her husband sewed it for her. How romantic – his mother believed in raising her boys without the gender stereotyping of only women sew!

I also spent some time cleaning a few machines. The first one the singer 404 I hauled home in the RV from some a small town, cabinet and all. It has a knee control, is super light and I think I have fallen in love with this model. The knee control is so convenient. Think I will sew my Archer on it to test it out.

The second machine the Singer 127 is a shuttle machine…I oiled and cleaned and made a rice bag for my stiff neck 🙂 I blame it on all the sewing. The sound of this shuttle machine is so unique – it’s like the needle almost does a little bounce. It’s mesmerizing – I guess only someone who is addicted to sewing machines would notice. It has a gorgeous bentwood case and was given to me by an incredible seamstress. It was her grandmothers. And was carried by boat to Canada when she came. I am very honoured Noreen chose me to keep this machine.

20131006-120345.jpg

20131006-120400.jpg

20131006-120409.jpg

20131006-120417.jpg

20131006-123711.jpg

One thought on “My sewing room today

  1. I love all of your machines! Many years ago I have a ‘Burdick’ machine that used the ‘shuttle’ bobbins, it was so beautiful, the wonderful details on the machine and the cabinet wood engraving so intricate. Sewing and vintage wasn’t important to be during my young years and now I regret not still having it.

Leave a Reply

